Friday, February 23, 2024
HomeSport BusinessBangladesh Drop Ex-captain Tamim Iqbal From Cricket World Cup 2023 Squad

Bangladesh Drop Ex-captain Tamim Iqbal From Cricket World Cup 2023 Squad

Bangladesh on Tuesday introduced their 15-man squad for the ODI World Cup in India, leaving out former captain Tamim Iqbal because of damage considerations. Tamim, 34, who retired in a shock transfer in July earlier than reversing his determination a day later on the request of Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, returned to the aspect solely final week for the opening two matches of the just-concluded residence collection towards New Zealand. Tamim established himself as one of many nation’s most reliable gamers and is the one Bangladeshi to attain centuries in all three codecs of the sport.

However he took a break from Tuesday’s ultimate match that Bangladesh misplaced by seven wickets in Dhaka, and reportedly refused to present a assure of his participation in all matches within the World Cup.

Prime-selling Bengali newspaper Prothom Al reported on Tuesday that coach Chandika Hathurusinghe and skipper Shakib Al Hasan stated solely totally match gamers could possibly be within the World Cup squad, resulting in the exclusion of Tamim.

“Tamim Iqbal has had an damage concern for a very long time, which we all know,” chief selector Mihajul Abedin stated.

“He was preventing towards it and acquired again to health forward of the New Zealand collection. However after the primary recreation, he complained of damage once more.”

New Zealand whitewashed Bangladesh to win the three-match collection 2-0.

Batsman Najmul Hossain Shanto, who made his debut as captain throughout the collection towards the Kiwis, has been named as vice-captain for the World Cup.

The Bangladesh aspect travels to Guwahati on Wednesday for 2 warm-up matches towards Sri Lanka on September 29 and towards England on October 2, earlier than the World Cup begins on October 5.

The aspect will then transfer to Dharamshala for his or her match opener towards Afghanistan on October 7.

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Liton Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto (vice-captain), Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

Matters talked about on this article



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments