The reigning world champions breezed previous the Scots in an 18-3 victory on Sunday to kick-start their Rugby World Cup marketing campaign, however Kriel’s excessive sort out was a regarding spotlight.
The South African went into the sort out and smashed heads with Dempsey who was seeking to break by way of the opposing defence, with critics calling for a crimson card to be proven.
Kriel escaped punishment regardless of England’s Tom Curry being given his marching orders in Saturday’s win over Argentina for the same problem, nevertheless, Erasmus is not involved that any follow-up motion might be taken.
Erasmus, who guided the Springboks to World Cup victory in 2019, defined his view that there was no ‘head-on-head contact’.
South Africa director of rugby, Rassie Erasmus (pictured), is assured no motion might be taken in opposition to Jesse Kriel
Kriel (left) averted being carded for this problem on Scotland’s Jack Dempsey (quantity eight)
Talking on Monday, he acknowledged: ‘We’re snug that they have not cited him and we’re very certain that there will not be a citing,’ Erasmus mentioned.
‘There undoubtedly wasn’t head-on-head contact, it was a sort out on the ball. He moved up after making the sort out on the ball.
‘I’ve seen a number of stills the place that had been taken simply after Jesse made direct contact on the ball. You may make any sort out like that look actually dangerous. For those who look a millisecond or a second or two again, you will notice that he clearly tackled on the ball,’ he added.
‘So, yeah, we’re very pleased with the way it was refereed. We’re pleased with the choice that was made.
‘I might be very stunned that, with first contact on the ball, there might be something from that.’
Replays present the left-side of Kriel’s face smashing into Dempsey with the 29-year-old centre not showing to dip his knees sufficiently earlier than going into the problem.
England’s Tom Curry (center left) was despatched off for the same problem on Saturday evening
He averted any punishment as South Africa went on to say a cushty victory, whereas Curry will discover out his destiny in entrance of a disciplinary panel on Tuesday.
Nonetheless, former Scotland worldwide John Barclay believes the problem warranted an instantaneous crimson card as he analysed the incident on ITV.
‘You are two minutes into the sport and you have got an incident that is a crimson card. It is a crimson card,’ mentioned Barclay.
‘He comes from a distance. A transparent line of sight and he applies drive. It is head on head. It is a crimson card.’