Tuesday, October 3, 2023
HomeArsenalRuby Tui returns to Black Ferns in squad for WXV 1

Ruby Tui returns to Black Ferns in squad for WXV 1

The primary version of the WXV kicks off in Wellington on October 21, concluding two rounds later with the Black Ferns dealing with their Rugby World Cup closing opponents for the primary time since that well-known win at Eden Park final November.

Additionally included within the prime tier of the brand new worldwide event are the opposite two of the highest three finishers from each the Six Nations and Pacific 4 Sequence; France, Wales, Australia and Canada.

New Black Ferns coach Allan Bunting loved a successful begin to his reign with a dominant Pacific 4 Sequence win and has named a largely comparable 30-woman squad for the WXV, with the addition of some excellent younger expertise who impressed within the current Farah Palmer Cup season and the return of world famous person Ruby Tui.

Video Spacer
Video Spacer

Auckland’s FPC winning effort on Saturday has seen eight of their squad included in the Black Ferns outfit, contributing half of the team’s four new names: Chryss Viliko and Sophie Fisher.

The other two newcomers are Canterbury’s Martha Mataele and Manawatu’s Layla Sae.

“It has been a very tough selection for our coaching group, which demonstrates the growth in our women’s game and a reflection our depth is certainly building. Our new players have really stood out in several important behaviours we value. All of which we have been looking for in this year’s Farah Palmer Cup,” said Black Ferns Director of Rugby Bunting.

“It is an exciting opportunity for them to come on this journey and look to continue their growth both on and off the field. The future of our internal competition is exciting to see.”

Black ferns squad for the WXV 1

Loosehead Props:
Kate Henwood
Krystal Murray
Chryss Viliko*

Georgia Ponsonby
Luka Connor
Natalie Delamere

Tighthead Props:
Amy Rule
Sophie Fisher*
Tanya Kalounivale

Charmaigne Smith
Chelsea Bremner
Maiakawanakaulani Roos

Loose Forwards:
Alana Bremner
Kennedy Simon
Layla Sae*
Liana Mikaele-Tu’u
Lucy Jenkins

Ariana Bayler
Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu
Iritana Hohaia

First-Five Eighths:
Rosie Kelly
Ruahei Demant

Amy Du Plessis
Logo-I-Pulotu Lemapu Atai’i (Sylvia) Brunt
Patricia Maliepo

Outside Backs:
Katelyn Vahaakolo
Martha Mataele*
Mererangi Paul
Renee Holmes
Ruby Tui

* Denotes potential debut

Unavailable for selection due to injury: Ayesha Leti-I’iga (knee), Awhina Tangen Wainohu (neck), Charmaine McMenamin (knee), Santo Taumata (knee).

Also announced was the first Black Ferns XV squad, a team packed with aspiring international talent who will face Manusina XV on September 23rd.

Black Ferns XV Squad

Ellis Doyle
Esther Faiaoga-Tilo
Moomooga Palu
Marcelle Parkes
Maddi Robinson

Leaso Grace Gago Tiatia
Atlanta Lolohea
Vici-Rose Green

Laura Bayfield
Emma Dermody
Sam Taylor
Maama Vaipulu

Loose Forwards:
Mia Anderson
Leah Miles
Elizabeth Moimoi
Holly Wratt-Groeneweg

Kahlia Awa
Di Hini

First Five-Eighth:
Maia Joseph

Grace Brooker
Cheyenne Cunnigham
Justine McGregor
Rangimarie Sturmey

Outside Backs:
Lela Ieremia
Harmony Kautai
Angelica Mekemeke Vahai
Tara Turner



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments